My Thoughts on Addiction and How it Led Me to Alter the Path of My Life 

I’m never drinking again.

No, just kidding

If someone offers me a drink I would gladly accept it.

But me alone and a bottle? I came to the conclusion that it is no longer a good combination.

Addiction is a topic that affects many individuals, and it’s a complex issue that requires careful consideration and reflection. Looking back at my past life, I can’t help but reflect on the choices I’ve made and how they have shaped me into who I am today.

In my early twenties, things were a complete mess for me. I got hooked on cigarettes and alcohol, especially wine and whiskey. The craftsmanship behind them fascinated me, and even the smell alone would have an effect on me. I worked in an environment where drinking was the norm, and I had to be functional and alert all the time, so I relied on alcohol. My addiction had become a part of my daily life. I would drink with my friends, go to bars on weekends, and even have bottles at my place to drink whenever I felt like it.

I was completely hooked.

I couldn’t imagine life without it.

It’s crazy to think how out of control my life had become.

Deep down, I knew that what I was doing wasn’t bringing me happiness. I was exhausted and felt like I was stuck in a rut. That’s when I had a realization — I needed to make a change and find a path that would have a greater impact and meaning.

During that period, I made the decision to become a secondary visual arts teacher. While I had always been interested in both teaching and art, it hadn’t crossed my mind as a career choice until then. At first, I was attracted to teaching because I thought it would be an easy job, but I quickly discovered that it was much more challenging than I expected. However, I also found that sharing my passion with younger individuals was incredibly fulfilling and gave me a strong sense of purpose.

Becoming a teacher not only provided me with a more fulfilling career but also played a crucial role in addressing my drinking and smoking addiction. By immersing myself in teaching, I found a positive focus that motivated and inspired me to overcome my addictions. It was a challenging journey to quit drinking and smoking, but it was absolutely worth it.

However, my transformation didn’t stop there.

I still had one more addiction and habit to tackle: overeating. After quitting drinking and smoking, I noticed that I started eating excessively. I realized that this was a result of my previous addictions. Recognizing the need to lose weight and adopt a healthy eating lifestyle, I am currently working on getting back in shape. It’s a challenging process, but I am determined to persevere and keep pushing forward.

Upon reflecting on my journey, I have developed a deep appreciation for the philosophy of “I can quit whenever.” This philosophy highlights the concept that true freedom stems from recognising our ability to make choices in our lives. It acknowledges that we are accountable for our actions and have the capacity to act differently if we choose to do so.

For me, this philosophy played a vital role in understanding that my addiction was not an irreversible condition, but rather a choice that I could overcome. It instilled in me the confidence and determination to bring about positive changes, leading me on the path to becoming a teacher.

Looking ahead, my plan is to continue teaching and inspiring young individuals. I aspire to assist them in uncovering their passions and discovering meaning and purpose in their lives. Teaching, to me, encompasses more than just imparting knowledge; it is about making a positive impact on the lives of others. And for me, that is the most fulfilling and rewarding endeavor I can pursue.

But who knows, the future holds endless possibilities, and it’s entirely possible that I may change my career direction someday. I might pursue a path as a lecturer, a tattoo artist, or even open my own coffee shop. Regardless of the specific career I choose, the philosophy of “I can quit whenever” will remain constant.

Image source: The Atlantic. Photograph by Chelsea Kyle; Prop Stylist: Amy Elise Wilson; Food Stylist: Sue Li

Leave a comment